La Liga 2022

La Liga Champions 2022

Spanish Champions for the 35th time!

Goals from Rodrygo (2), Asensio and Benzema gave the side the three points against Espanyol to secure Real Madrid’s 35th league title. The first time the La Liga title has been secured at the Bernabéu in 15 years.

Real Madrid took to the field against Espanyol knowing that all they needed was one point to secure their 35th LaLiga title, but the Whites went out guns blazing to take all three points. Ancelotti’s men put on a stellar display to convincingly defeat the Catalan side courtesy of a first-half brace from Rodrygo and goals from Asensio and Benzema in the second half. The madridistas sealed their 35th league title with four games left to play in the competition.

The first clear chance of the clash fell to Mariano in the 13th minute, when Ceballos played a cross into the area and Casemiro nodded across goal for the forward whose header came back off the post. Ten minutes later, Mariano produced a powerful header from Modrić’s cross, but his effort went narrowly wide of the far post. The hosts continued to apply the pressure on the visitors’ defence and found a way through on the half-hour mark. Rodrygo played a neat one-two with Marcelo on the edge of the box before driving past two defenders and slotting the ball into the net with his right foot.

The Bernabéu was right behind their team, who made it 2-0 before the break. It was Rodrygo on target again in the 43rd minute, putting in a spectacular performance as he finished after Mariano had won the ball near the area. The Brazilian made his way into the box, beat Cabrera and tricked Diego López with his finish. The game had sprung into life, and they could have had a third in stoppage time, but Marcelo's right-footed effort from distance sailed just inches wide of the visitors' goal. The third did arrive in the 56th minute. Camavinga won the ball back in his own half to set up a counter-attack, carrying the ball before releasing Asensio, who beat Diego Lopez with his right foot.

Ancelotti, who became the first coach to win the title in each of the five big leagues, brought on Benzema, Kroos and Isco in the 60th minute. The fourth goal looked to have come ten minutes later. A wonderful team move ended with Lucas Vázquez through one-on-one, but his strike was inches wide. Shortly after, Benzema set up Isco to score, but the goal was disallowed by the referee as Rodrygo was adjudged to have been in an offside position. However, Benzema was to get his goal as the French forward added to his spectacular scoring form in the 81st minute, with Vini Jr providing the assist. Real Madrid crowned La Liga champions.